Little Miss Splendid

Remembrance of Things Past, Seize the Day, and In Search of Beauty and Joy

Great German Poet – Heinrich Heine (1797-1856) April 17, 2010

Thou fairest fisher maiden,
Row thy boat to the land.
Come here and sit beside me,
Whispering, hand in hand.
Lay thy head on my bosom,
And have no fear of me ;
For carelessly thou trustest
Daily the savage sea.
My heart is like the ocean,
With storm and ebb and flow,
And many a pearl lies hidden
Within its depths below.


Heine is best known for his bittersweet lyrics, but wrote in many forms, including sonnets, odes, ballads and biting satire. Heine combined a lyricism of great simplicity and purity with an ardent and melancholy disposition. His language was not new, but he added levels of speech through the parodistic mingling of conventionally poetic, conversational and commercial terms, and strengthened its rhythmic vitality.


Some Quotes of Heine:
“Nature knows no indecencies; man invents them.”
“Where words leave off; music begins.”
“Woman is at once apple and serpent.”
“Talking and eloquence are not the same: to speak and to speak well are two things. A fool may talk, but a wise man speaks”
“Like a great poet, Nature knows how to produce the greatest effects with the most limited means.”
“It is a common phenomenon that just the prettiest girls find it so difficult to get a man.”


Come, fairest fisher-maiden, here
Put, put they skiff to land;
Come close to me and sit thee down,
And prattle hand in hand.


Oh, lay thy head upon my heart,
Have not such fear of me;
Thou trustest day by day thyself
Unto the wild, wild sea.


My heart is like the sea, it hath
Its storm, and ebb, and flow;
And many pretty pearls, my love,
Rest in its depths below.




I wept in my dreams.
I dreamed you lay in the grave;
I awoke, and the tears
still poured down my cheeks.


I wept in my dreams,
I dreamed you had left me;
I awoke and I went on weeping
long and bitterly.


I wept in my dreams,
I dreamed you were still kind to me;
I awoke, and still
the flow of my tears streams on.

 

Leave a Reply

